Josh Herrin on pole for Daytona 200

Josh Herrin is all smiles after taking pole position for Saturday’s Daytona 200 (Photo: Daytona International Speedway)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Josh Herrin took pole position for tomorrow’s 80th race of the Daytona 200, giving Ducati its first starting spot at Daytona International Speedway since Eric Bostrom did it on a Ducati 999 in 2004.

Herrin clinched pole position for the highlight of Bike Week Presented By Monster Energy with his 1:50.088 lap in the 15-minute Time Attack session that featured the 12 fastest riders after the two qualifying sessions. Saturday’s Daytona 200 is scheduled for a 1 p.m. ET start.

“I came here two years ago and obviously it wasn’t a MotoAmerica race then, but we got pole and then we took it away and then the race was called off, so it was a big disappointment,” said Herrin, the 2010 Daytona Champion, said. “For me, I always wanted to get the pole because from a very young age, if you have the pole here, you have the Rolex. I won the race and I didn’t have the Rolex and I don’t didn’t get pole at the time.

“It was super important for me to try and get pole…just for the confidence and for those guys to think a bit about speed, especially without a draft. I was looking for the draft the whole lap and I couldn’t get it to get it so I just put my head down and pushed real hard in the infield and I was able to get it I’m glad I got it happy for the HSBK Warhorse Ducati team and put the V2 in pole position, I’m ready for tomorrow’s race.

Herrin’s best on his Ducati Panigale V2 was just 0.010 seconds faster than Team SYNTAINICS Racing’s Sheridan Morais, with the South African completing a unique run in the MotoAmerica Series on his team’s Yamaha YZF-R6.

Jake Gagné of Attack Performance Yamaha will join Herrin and Morais in the front row, the 2021 MotoAmerica Superbike Champion with a time of 1:50.405.

Defending Daytona 200 champion Brandon Paasch and his TOBC Racing Triumph will lead the second row where he will be joined by Vision Wheel M4 ECSTAR Suzuki’s Richie Escalante and Attack Performance Yamaha’s Cameron Petersen.

Danny Eslick of TOBC Racing Triumph (four-time Daytona champion), Max Angles Racing Team of Max Angles Racing and Kevin Olmedo of BobbleHeadMoto/N2 Racing round out the top 10 in qualifying for tomorrow’s Daytona 200.

Daytona 200 qualifying results
1. Josh Herrin (Ducati) 1:50.088
2. Sheridan Morais (Yamaha) 1:50.098
3. Jake Gagne (Yamaha) 1:50.405
4. Brandon Paasch (Triumph) 1:50.571
5. Richie Escalante (Suzuki) 1:50.957
6.Cameron Petersen (Yamaha) 1:964
7. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 1:51.011
8. Danny Eslick (Triumph) 1:51.107
9. Maximum angles (Kawasaki) 1:51.134
10. Kevin Olmedo (Yamaha) 1:51.452

About Rachelle Roosevelt

Check Also

Ahead of the holiday season, Yamaha is announcing cash back on this scooter. Details here

Ahead of the festive season, Yamaha Motor has announced an exciting festival offer on its …