Swanepoel and Pentecost support the SA Cross Country

Hometown hero Brett Swanepoel claimed overall victory in a tough second round of Dalton KZN aboard his OR2 Husqvarna on Saturday as he took charge of the Group’s South African Cross Country Motorcycle Championship pursuit Trademore.

OR2 rival Scott Heygate boosted his title prospects in second aboard his OR2 KTM, while Mike Pentecost’s Kawasaki took the OR1 victory in third overall, ahead of class rivals Hayden Louw’s Yamaha, Travis Teasedale’s GasGas and William Slater on a KTM.

Davin Cocker bounced back to take the OR3 victory on his works Husqvarna in seventh, ahead of the OR2 KTM men of Kerim Fitz-Gerald and Dylan Cox on his Yamaha, OR3 KTM of Matthew Wilson and OR1 Honda of Gareth Cole. Kawasaki men Kenny Gilbert took the Senior and Masters honors from Mielies le Roux.

In the schoolboy classes, Luke Walker took the 125cc high school on a KTM, while Husqvarna guys Brandon Clarke took the 85cc and GJ Coetzee the 65cc junior wins.

Swanepoel was in imperious form as he accelerated to the nearly eight-minute overall victory over the KTM Brother Leader Tread of Heygate and Fitz-Gerald, and the Yamahas of Dylan Cox and Tristan Tamsen in 350cc OR3.

There were just two minutes between the top four in the Open OR1 class, Mike Pentecost’s Franchise Co CIT Kawasaki Hayden Louw’s Yamaha and Travis Teasdale, who edged Will Slater’s KTM by a tenth of a second after three hours. and a half run. Championship leader arriving at Dalton, Bradley Cox’s OR1 KTM, has retired.

Davin Cocker, however, made up for his disappointment last time out with a comfortable 250cc OR3 win over the KTM trio of Brother Tread Leader rider Matthew Wilson, Dylan Jones and Ryan Pelser. Pepson Plastics Motul Kawasaki man Taki Bogiages finished fifth to Cayden Purchase on another KTM.

Pepson Kawasaki of Kenny Gilbert took on the seniors of Honda of Wade Blaauw and Kawasaki of Wyatt Avis. And Franchise Co Kawasaki of Mielies le Roux easily took on the Husqvarna masters of Greg Nairn and Spencer Michael on a KTM.

Miélies le Roux.

Luke Walker led a KTM High School 1-2-3-4 just under a minute behind Ross Ramseyer, Miles Wolhuter and Thomas Scales, with Joss Alexander’s Wian Wentzel and Husqvarnas next door.

Brandon Clarke took an easy 85cc win on his Husqvarna ahead of KTM lads Murray Smith and Bruno Niebuhr. GJ Coetzee was two minutes ahead of motocross Jake Pretorius and Werner Kleinhans on another Husqvarna in the 65s.

The Trademore Group South African Cross Country Championship is now taking a break until round three at Ganyesa, 70 kilometers northwest of Vryburg in the northwest, on Saturday May 21.

Will it favor backcountry runners? Time will tell us!

Source: MotorsportMedia/ Photos: GXCC

About Rachelle Roosevelt

Check Also

Ahead of the holiday season, Yamaha is announcing cash back on this scooter. Details here

Ahead of the festive season, Yamaha Motor has announced an exciting festival offer on its …