Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 at South Boston Speedway: TV channel, live stream, schedule, more for 2022

The Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 green flag will fly on Saturday to kick off the Virginia Triple Crown (South Boston Speedway)

Many fireworks will be on display at South Boston Speedway this weekend as the facility hosts the opening round of the Virginia Late Model Triple Crown, the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200.

Since its opening in 1957, South Boston has served as the hub for short track competition on the East Coast. NASCAR’s top three divisions raced in South Boston, which also hosted the Denny Hamlin Short Track Showdown and events for the ARCA Menards Series, NASCAR Southeast Series and NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour.

RELATED: Watch the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 on FloRacing

South Boston’s short track culture remains vibrant as ever. In the past decade alone, four track champions in South Boston in Philip Morris, Lee Pulliam, Matt Bowling and Peyton Sellers, have all won the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series title in the same year.

Many of South Boston’s weekly competitors, including national leaders Sellers and Layne Riggs, will face a healthy contingent of Late Model Stock riders as they look to add another chapter in the growing history of the most expensive race. of the track.

Below is everything you need to know about the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 at South Boston Speedway.

A packed house is expected for Saturday’s 200-lap Late Model Stock feature at South Boston Speedway, which includes an entry roster of nearly 50 cars. (Boston South Autodrome)

What TV channel airs the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 at South Boston Speedway on?

All of the on-track action for the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 at South Boston Speedway can be viewed live on FloRacing, the official broadcast home for all NASCAR Roots properties.

The racing action will not air on any network television.

Below is the complete schedule of FloRacing coverage of the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200.

Date Start time How to watch
Saturday, July 2, 2022 7 p.m. ET FloRacing

Full Harley-Davidson 200 Road Thunder Schedule

This year, the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 is scheduled to take place on Saturday, July 2.

Four different divisions will make up Saturday’s track action in South Boston, including the Limited Sportsman, Pure Stock, Hornet and Late Model Stock divisions. Ending the night will be the Late Model Stock feature of 200 spins.

Below is the complete schedule for race days at South Boston Speedway.

Time Event
11 a.m. ET Registration/Pit Gate/Tire Building/Tech open
12:40 p.m. ET Event production meeting
1 p.m. ET Follow the services meeting (Tower 1)
1:15 p.m. ET Frontstretch grandstand doors open
1:30 p.m. ET Training/Qualifying (Pure Stocks and Hornets only)
4 p.m. ET Backstretch & Turn 3 airside tailgating doors open
4:05 p.m. ET Drivers Meeting (Tech Building)
4:30 p.m. ET Group Qualifiers (Limited Stocks of Sportsman and Late Model)
5:15 p.m. to 6:15 p.m. ET Fan Appreciation/Autograph Session (Frontsretch)
6:35 p.m. ET Pre-race ceremonies
7 p.m. ET The races begin (Fireworks to follow)

Official format of the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200

Saturday’s Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 will be split into four stages.

Each stage is divided into segments of 50 laps. Controlled warnings will be posted at laps 50 and 150, while a 10-minute mid-race break at lap 100 will allow teams to adjust their cars.

A maximum of 40 cars will be allowed to take the green flag and compete for a winning paycheck of $10,000. The first 30 starting positions are determined by qualifying speed, with the remaining 10 positions being determined by a last chance qualifying run.

Below is the stage breakdown for the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 at South Boston Speedway.

Step number Towers
Step 1 50 rounds (controlled caution)
2nd step 50 laps (10 minute halfway break)
Step 3 50 rounds (controlled caution)
Step 4 50 spins (winning $10,000 paycheck)

List of entries Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200

An impressive field of 48 cars will attempt the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 on Saturday, which is one of the biggest entry lists in racing history.

Layne Riggs and Peyton Sellers will fight their national championship battle in the 200 laps on Saturday, but both will face defending winner Bobby McCarty. Known for his success in Late Model Stocks around the East Coast, McCarty also enters the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 as the final Virginia Late Model Triple Crown champion.

Joining the Virginians this weekend will be Super Late Model star Derek Thorn, whose accomplishments also include two championships in the ARCA Menards West Series. Thorn will pilot a Late Model Stock prepared by Steve Stallings and Marcus Richmond, the latter having served as crew chief for pilots like Noah Gragson, Ty Dillon, Dennis Setzer and Timothy Peters.

Other notable names looking for a Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 victory include defending ValleyStar Credit Union 300 winner Landon Pembelton, part-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competitor Corey Heim, and Carson Kvapil, who is the son of Truck Series champion Travis Kvapil and will be driving a car fielded by JR Motorsports.

Below is the full entry list for Saturday’s Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200.

car number Driver
0 Landon Pembelton
01 Camden Gullie
03 Brenden Queen
04 Larry Barrett
05 Mason Bailey
06 Terry Dease
1 Craig Moore
1 Tate Fogleman
1 Danny Willis Jr.
2 Brandon Pierce
2 Christopher Denny
4 Parker Eatmon
4 Kyle Dudley
5 Carter Langley
8 Thomas Scott
8 Josh Oakley
8 Carson Kvapil
9 Trey Crews
12 Austin Thaxton
14 Jared Friar
16 Sam Yarbrough
17 Jason Myers
17 Stacy Puryear
22 Bobby McCarty
24 mason diaz
25 Jacob Borst
26 Peyton Sellers
28 Jason Barnes
31 Aaron Donnelly
43 Derek Thorn
44 ConnerJones
50 Raymond Pitman
55 Marc Wertz
57 Eddie Johnson
74 Quin Houff
77 Blake Stalling
77 Connor Hall
77 Neighborhood Trevor
78 Corey Heim
81 Mini Tyrrell
87 mike looney
90 Jean Goin
90 Terry Carroll
91 jonathan chafer
91 Justin Carroll
91 Chris Elliot
97 Eric Winslow
99 Layne Riggs
Several talented riders have won the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200, including former NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series champions Lee Pulliam, Philip Morris and Peyton Sellers (NASCAR)

History of Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200, winners

Although the South Boston Speedway is a cornerstone of Virginia’s short-track community, the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 was mostly dominated by out-of-state riders during its brief existence.

The most successful of these pilots was Semora, North Carolina, native Lee Pulliam. The four-time NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series Division I National Champion was unstoppable in South Boston in the early 2010s, winning six consecutive Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200s from 2011 to 2016.

The Virginia natives tried to regain control after Pulliam’s winning streak. Philip Morris and Peyton Sellers retained the Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 trophy in Virginia from 2017 to 2019 before Summerfield, North Carolina native Bobby McCarty broke that streak in last year’s race.

Sellers and McCarty are the only two former winners to compete in this weekend’s Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200, which provides the perfect opportunity for a new name to stamp its own legacy at the end of a grueling 200 laps.

Below is the full list of Thunder Road Harley-Davidson 200 winners.

Year Winner
2006 Drew Herring
2007 Adam Barker
2008 Deacon McCaskill
2009 Nick Smith
2010 Deacon McCaskill
2011 Lee Pulliam
2012 Lee Pulliam
2013 Lee Pulliam
2014 Lee Pulliam
2015 Lee Pulliam
2016 Lee Pulliam
2017 Philip Morris
2018 Peyton Sellers
2019 Peyton Sellers
2020 Not held
2021 Bobby McCarty

About Rachelle Roosevelt

Check Also

Fatal Injuries in NC 90 East Crash – The Taylorsville Times

COLLISION CLAIMS MOTORCYCLIST’S LIFE – A crash involving a motorcycle and two other vehicles in …